h1

Audio Flipboard anyone?

January 5, 2012

Listen: Sign on BBC Building at MediaCityUK

 I think 2012 will be the year that audio in social really explodes.

When I first got my hands on an iPad Flipboard was a revelation – previously I dug into Twitter and Facebook chronologically and Flipboard’s magazine layout and easy-to-browse nature made it a much more random and fun process. I’d spot things I hadn’t before but more interestingly, I was reading social media streams like I’d read a newspaper and not at my desk with a computer.

While reading Katie Moffat’s predictions for 2012 I was struck by, “ I think 2012 will be the year that audio in social really explodes.

I commented on the post that, “ it really needs a platform that will manage audio well. If we had something that would do to podcasts and AudioBoo what FlipBoard does for text you’d have yourself a custom radio magazine show, it’d be awesome! I’d listen every morning on the daily commute.

The post made me think, there must be a way of aggregating audio content, esp social content in a similar vein to FlipBoard. I’d be interested in knowing if anyone has done this effectively yet BECAUSE I WANT IT! And if it’s not being done, looking further into developing ideas around it. Would make an interesting project for some of our bright students perhaps. Shuffler.fm are doing it for music but I haven’t yet found an equivalent for spoken word….

3 comments

  1. I wonder if anybody’s looked into developing this kind of thing for blind users? I imagine there’s a whole wealth of audio apps for blind people that would be interesting for the wider community as well.


  2. Good point Liz. I’d forgotten but when I worked with the RNIB some years ago they were working on aggregating talking newspapers for people to put on mp3 players, I may make a call or two to see if any of the tech would transfer. Thanks!


  3. […] time ago I posted that I’d love to see an audio equivalent to Flipboard, the wonderful social media agglomerator that presents your connected networks in magazine […]



Leave a Reply

